Investments    

Banro Corporation

Banro CorporationCordiant, through its CIFA fund, invested in Banro Corporation. Banro is a junior gold exploration company focused on the development of four advanced stage gold projects in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Africa is rich in natural resources and accounts for 21% of the world’s gold production. Banro is a Canadian (Toronto Stock Exchange) and AMEX listed company. The company owns 100 percent of the mining licenses of the four projects and has eleven million ounces of gold resources along the Twangiza-Namoy gold belt.


Banque Commerciale de Rwanda (BCR)

BCRCIFA invested in BCR, the second largest commercial bank in Rwanda, with a market share of 25 percent, 200 staff and seven branches. Utilising the bank’s extensive branch network and strong distribution channels, the intention is to grow  the corporate and retail business significantly by introducing leasing, SME lending and housing finance products, all the while focusing on customer service.

 

 

 


Candax Energy Inc.

CandaxCandax is a Toronto-based oil and natural gas company engaged in exploration, acquisition, development and production of natural gas and crude oil. The company is currently focussing its activities on projects in the Middle East and North Africa, North Africa being one of the most prolific and, as yet, underdeveloped regions for hydrocarbon reserves in the world.  Candax was listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange in August 2005.

 

 

 

 


Mineral Deposits Limited (MDL)

MDLMDL is an Australian based resources company that is developing two quality mining projects in Senegal. The Grande Côte Zircon Project, which has received its mining concession, has high quality zircon, a cost freight advantage over its competitors due to its proximity to Europe, and can benefit from the use of existing sand mining dredges. The second project is the Sabodala gold project where evaluation drilling has confirmed a resource of 2.2 million ounces.


Orezone Resources

OrezoneOrezone was acquired by IAMGOLD in February 2009.

Orezone Resources is a Canadian gold exploration company with four advanced stage gold projects in Burkina Faso. Burkina Faso is strategically located between Ghana and Mali, the second and third largest gold producing countries in Africa. Orezone has 3700 km2 of properties in the region with 3.5 million oz resources.

 

 

 

 


Peters Papers

Peters PapersPeters Papers is the second largest paper merchant in South Africa with a history that can be traced back over 100 years. The company distributes paper and associated products to commercial printers and resellers in South Africa. It represents more than 40 leading paper mills and graphic sundries suppliers from around the world and employs 300 permanent and 100 contract staff in its nationwide sales and distribution network in South Africa.


Savcio Holdings

Savcio HoldingsCIFA invested in Savcio, a repairs, services and replacement parts company comprised of four separate business units: Electrical Repair Engineering, accounting for 80 percent of Savcio’s sales, is Africa’s largest private sector repairer of electric motors, transformers and traction drive systems; Transwire is a leading manufacturer of enamelled copper wire; Wilec supplies input materials to the electrical motor and transformer industries; and ESPA specialises in the procurement of high quality after-market replacement parts. The growth prospects for Savcio are very encouraging given that Savcio will benefit from general and industrial growth in South Africa and is uniquely positioned to take advantage of the government’s commitment to upgrade public transport and electrical distribution.


UACN

UACNCIFA invested in UAC of Nigeria (UACN). With its headquarters in Lagos, the company’s core businesses are food-focused and include a fast food retail outlet (the Mr. Big Bigg’s chain), food manufacturing (Gala Sausage Rolls), and food supply (GCOML grain processing plants). UACN also owns MDS, one of the largest warehousing and logistics companies in Nigeria, and holds a 46% shareholding in UACN Properties, a high growth residential property developer. The company has been trading since 1931 and was formerly a part of Unilever plc. It is one of the leading public companies quoted on the Nigerian Stock Exchange.


Gulf of Guinea Energy Limited (GOGE)

GOGE is an upstream oil & gas company whose initial focus is on Nigeria but with ambition to expand to West Africa. GOGE has rights to a 40% interest in the undeveloped onshore Uquo field to the east of the Niger Delta, with 2P oil reserves of 50 million barrels and tcf scale gas.


Diamond Bank

Diamond Bank, Nigeria's 9th largest commercial bank, currently has 100 branches, 1800 staff and a market share of 5%. With its focus on SME and corporate sectors, the bank sits at the top of the second tier of the industry with a healthy lending book and a robust operating platform.


Fuel Logistics Group

Fuel is an established supply chain and logistics services group in South Africa. With a nationwide network, the company provides customised logistic solutions to blue chip local and international customers in a wide range of industry sectors, focussing in particular on the FMCG and pharmaceutical sectors.


Sinai Marble

Sinai Marble is an integrated marble producer and one of Egypt's leading exporters. Marble extracted from company-owned quarries is used in the production of slabs and tiles for export to over 40 countries. As one of the few producers of scale in Egypt and as the leading player in terms of product quality and customer service, Sinai Marble is well-positioned to take advantage of the increase in demand for high quality Egyptian marble.


Alexander Forbes

Alexander Forbes is a diversified financial services company that operates as an intermediary in two distinct industries: investment and insurance. The company holds a dominant market position and is represented across 30 countries, with the majority of its operations being in South Africa.


Mouka Foam

UACNMouka manufactures foam used in making mattresses, furniture and other products. Founded in 1972, the company today holds a leading brand and market position in Nigeria and continues to experience growth both in Nigeria and the West African su-region.

 

 


Poulina

The Poulina Group pioneered the poultry industry in Tunisia before diversifying regionally into branded food, building products and ancillary industries. The Group has shown double-digit growth for the last 20 years and, in August 2008, CIFA was invited to become a cornerstone investor in its landmark IPO.

Banro Corporation

Banro CorporationBanro est une petite société d’exploration aurifère dont les activités portent essentiellement sur la mise en valeur de quatre projets avancés en République démocratique du Congo. L’Afrique est riche en ressources naturelles et représente 21 % de la production mondiale de métal jaune. Banro est inscrite à la cote de la Bourse de Toronto et de l’American Stock Exchange. La société détient 100 pour cent des permis d’exploitation minière des quatre projets, et ses ressources en or le long de la ceinture aurifère de Twangiza-Namoy s’élèvent à huit millions d’onces.


Banque Commerciale de Rwanda (BCR)

BCRAvec une part de marché de 25 pour cent, BCR est la deuxième banque commerciale en importance du Rwanda. Ses employés sont au nombre de 200 et elle compte sept succursales. En misant sur l’efficacité de son réseau de succursales et de ses canaux de distribution, BCR entend accroître sensiblement ses activités auprès des sociétés et du public en offrant des produits de crédit-bail, de prêts aux PME et de financement à l’habitation, tout en se concentrant sur le service à la clientèle.

 

 


Candax Energy Inc.

CandaxCandax est une société pétrolière et gazière de Toronto spécialisée dans l’exploration, l’acquisition, la mise en valeur et la production de gaz naturel et de pétrole brut. Ses activités sont actuellement centralisées sur des projets au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, cette dernière étant l’une des régions les plus riches du monde en réserves d’hydrocarbures, mais son potentiel reste inexploité. Candax est inscrite à la Bourse de Toronto depuis août 2005.

 

 

 


Mineral Deposits Limited (MDL)

MDLMDL est une société de ressources australienne qui exploite deux projets miniers de qualité au Sénégal. Le projet Zircon de la Grande Côte, qui s'est vu accorder une concession minière, produit du zircon de grande qualité, possède un avantage concurrentiel au chapitre de frais de transport en raison de sa proximité par rapport à l'Europe et peut bénéficier de l'utilisation de l'équipement de dragage de sable existant. Au projet aurifère de Sabodala, des activités de forage d'évaluation ont confirmé la présence de ressources de 2,3 millions d'onces.


Orezone Resources

OrezoneOrezone a été acquis par IAMGOLD en février 2009.

Orezone Resources est une société d’exploration aurifère canadienne qui mène trois projets aurifères avancés au Burkina Faso. Ce pays est stratégiquement situé entre le Ghana et le Mali, qui occupent respectivement le deuxième et le troisième rang en Afrique pour ce qui est de la production d’or. La superficie des biens miniers d’Orezone dans la région totalise 3 700 km2. Essakane, qui est le plus important projet de la société, est détenu en coentreprise avec Gold Fields, quatrième producteur d’or au monde.

 

 

 


Peters Papers

Peters PapersPeters Papers est le deuxième fournisseur de papier en Afrique du Sud. La société, dont l’histoire remonte à plus de 100 ans, distribue du papier et des produits connexes aux imprimeurs commerciaux et revendeurs du pays. Elle représente plus de 40 papeteries et fournisseurs d’articles graphiques de partout dans le monde et compte 300 employés permanents et 100 employés contractuels travaillant au sein de son réseau de ventes et de distribution en Afrique du Sud.


Savcio Holdings

Savcio HoldingsSavcio est une société offrant des services de réparation et des pièces de rechange. Elle est constituée de quatre unités d’exploitation : Electrical Repair Engineering, qui représente 80 % du chiffre d’affaires, est la plus importante entreprise privée d’Afrique dans le domaine de la réparation de moteurs et de transformateurs électriques et de systèmes d’entraînement à traction; Transwire est un leader dans la fabrication de fil de cuivre émaillé; Wilec fournit des produits auxiliaires destinés aux industries des moteurs et transformateurs électriques; et ESPA est un fournisseur de pièces de rechange de qualité supérieure. Les perspectives de Savcio sont très encourageantes, dans la mesure où la société bénéficiera de la croissance industrielle générale en Afrique du Sud, en plus d’être parfaitement bien placée pour tirer parti des plans du gouvernement visant à améliorer le transport public et la distribution d’électricité.


UACN

UACNUAC of Nigeria (UACN), dont le siège social se trouve à Lagos, exerce ses activités essentiellement dans le secteur alimentaire, et notamment dans la restauration-minute (chaîne Mr. Big Bigg’s), la fabrication de produits alimentaires (roulés à la saucisse Gala) et l’approvisionnement alimentaire (usines de conditionnement de céréales GCOML). UACN est également propriétaire de MDS, l’une des plus importantes entreprises d’entreposage et de logistique du Nigéria, et actionnaire à 46 % de UACN Properties, promoteur immobilier résidentiel à forte croissance. La société est négociée en bourse depuis 1931 et faisait autrefois partie de Unilever plc. Elle est l’une des principales sociétés ouvertes cotées à la Nigerian Stock Exchange.


Gulf of Guinea Energy Limited (GOGE)

GOGE est une société d'exploration pétrolière et gazière basée au Nigeria, mais ayant des projets d'expansion en Afrique de l'Ouest. Elle possède des droits sur 40% du site non exploité d'Uquo, à l'est du delta du Niger, qui affiche des réserves prouvées et probables de 50 millions de barils de pétrole et de plusieurs billions de pieds cubes de gaz.


Diamond Bank

Diamond Bank est la neuvième banque commerciale en importance au Nigeria. Elle compte 100 succursales, 1 800 employés et détient une part de marché de 5%. Elle met l'accent principalement sur les services aux PME et aux grandes entreprises. Diamond est la plus importante des banques de second rang et dispose d'un excellent portefeuille de prêts et d'une solide plateforme d'exploitation.


Fuel Logistics Group

Fuel est un groupe sud-africain qui offre des services liés à la chaine d'approvisionnement et à la logistique. Grace à son réseau national, Fuel offre des solutions logistiques adaptées à des clients locaux et internationaux de premier plan dans un vaste évantail de secteurs, en particulier ceux des biens de consommation courante et des produits pharmaceutiques.


Sinai Marble

Sinai Marble est un producteur intégré de marbre et l'un des plus importants exportateurs en Egypte. Le marbre extrait des carrières de la société est transformé en dalles et en tuiles, produits qui sont ensuite exportés dans plus de 40 pays. Sinai Marble est l'un des seuls producteurs d'envergure en Egypte et elle domine le marché au chapitre de la qualité des produits comme du service à la clientèle. Elle est en excellente position pour tirer parti de la demande accrue pour le marbre égyptien de grande qualité.


Alexander Forbes

Alexander Forbes est une société de services financiers diversifiée qui agit à titre d'intermédiaire dans les secteurs de l'investissement et l'assurance. Elle détient une part de marché dominante. Elle est présente dans 30 pays et exerce ses activités principalement en Afrique du Sud.


Mouka Foam

Mouka est une société qui fabrique la mousse utilisée dans la confection de matelas, de meubles et d'autres produits. La société a été créée en 1972. Forte d'une marque de premier plan et d'une part de marché prépondérante au Nigeria, Mouka continue d'enregistrer une croissance au Nigeria et en Afrique de l'Ouest.

 


Poulina

Poulina a été un pionnier du secteur avicole en Tunisie avant de se diversifier dans la région dans les aliments de marque, les produits de construction et les secteurs connexes, ce qui lui permet d'afficher une croissance annuelle de plus de 10% depuis une vingtaine d'années. En aout 2008, FICA a été invité à devenir l'investisseur principal de l'introduction historique de la plus grande entreprise tunisienne à la Bourse de Tunis.